Iwalani's Voyage Around the World
Map of Galapagos

The Galapagos archipelago consists of thirteen major islands, six minor islands and 40 some smaller rock formations and reefs spread out over 17,000 square miles of ocean. This cluster of Islands located on the equator is situated 600 miles off the coast of Ecuador. From the time they first broke through the ocean floor, some 7-9 million years ago, the Galapagos have remained a very active site of volcanic activity. On September 15, 1835, the most famous of all visitors to the Galapagos, Charles Darwin, arrived aboard the HMS Beagle, commanded by Captain Robert FitzRoy. The Beagle spent just five weeks in the archipelago during which time the 26-year old Naturalist was able to visit four of the principal islands - Chatham, Charles, Albermarle and James. He spent 19 days on land, collecting and observing the flora and fauna.